School is crazy! Physics is impossible! [RANTING/BITCHING]

Hi, all. Let me bitch for a while about how freaking crazy school has been.

So, today’s the 30th of June. It’s only been a month since Junior year started, yet we’re already swamped with incomprehensible equations and ridiculous scientific terms. Like, WTF’s sin and cos and tan and tan-1? My calculator is increasingly becoming my best friend, and to keep myself within the realm of sanity I need my iPod everyday.

Physics, though, has been the most stressing subject I have ever encountered. EVAR!!111!!. Not that our teacher’s bad or anything. Physics isn’t like the rest of the subjects in school, where lessons progress throughout year levels. They just slap Physics in your face—whapak!—and leave you to deal with it. Alone. Then they give you all these symbols like ? and ?, along with numbers and brackets and curly brackets and parentheses, and then tell you to figure it out. They don’t slowly feed you Physics. They cram it all down your throat and out the other end before you can say “vector displacement”.

Statistics, on the other hand, wasn’t as brain-damaging as I’d originally thought. It’s actually pretty easy—well, so far, at least. Sure, there have been some activities that have irked us, like recently when we collected some school organization participation statistics from Senior students. The questionnaires were returned a tad bit late, and processing the data is a pain in the rear given all the other activities we have to attend to. Like that Physics activity I never got around to finishing. 😡

Another thing that’s been bugging me lately is the thought of which college I’m going to. My friends will by now have known that my target school is the prestigious University of the Philippines Diliman Campus, home to the infamous Oblation and learning place for the country’s future greats. Thing is, to be able to study within the hallowed halls of UPD, one must first pass the University of the Philippines College Admission Test (UPCAT), which is by no means an easy task. Says the UP website,

The UPCAT is a five-hour examination consisting of subtests on language proficiency, reading comprehension, mathematics and science. The languages used in the UPCAT are English and Filipino.

Now, all bragging aside, language proficiency and reading comprehension will probably be the easier parts of the test. However, my knees start shaking whenever I hear about the allegedly über-difficult mathematics and science parts of the test, and if you know UP, they want something more from you than English-speaking douchebaggery before they can admit you to the institution. (“Admit you to the institution?” Did I just make UP sound like a mental hospital there?)

The thing is, there are a ton of other good schools to go to besides UP (albeit UP is the fo-shizzle-wizzle, and pwns all other schools in the country hands-down). Ateneo. Siliman. University of Santo Tomas. However, being an Iglesia ni Cristo, I’m not allowed to enter sectarian colleges, which pretty much narrows it down to UP and New Era University, which is owned by the INC. (On a side note, NEU is a non-sectarian institution,  contrary to what some might conclude from the fact that the Church owns it.)

I’ve been stressing lately. From Physics. From the whole where-will-I-go-to-college conundrum. And to think that a mere 20 months ago, I began my high school odyssey as a carefree creature. Back then, when people would ask me where I’d go to college, I usually quipped, “bahala na, kung asa makapasa (Wherever I pass the admission test),” and then I laughed. But recently, the whole idea of college has taken on a whole new meaning for me. It’s not merely that place where independence reigns, where people never run out of places to go. It’s the last stop before the rest of my life, and I better come into—and out of—it prepared for whatever’s hurled at me.

But right now, I’ve got something more immediate to stress about. Physics. Goddamned Physics. ‘Til next time.

[I was afraid to post this, since I think it’d be too personal for you to give a f*ck about. The mere fact that you made it this far into the article is stellar. Please allow me some space to vent every once in a while. I promise I’ll warn you that it’s a venting/bitching post, with the [VENTING/BITCHING] tag right beside the post title, like what you see in this post. Thanks.]

2 thoughts on “School is crazy! Physics is impossible! [RANTING/BITCHING]

  1. dean, just a tip. [honestly, i dont know if this would help.]remember, SohCahToa (pronounced as soh-kah-toh-wah)Sin=opposite/hypotenuse; Cos=adjacent/hypotenuse; Tangent=opposite/adjacentjust remember the ‘Toa’ part. if you’d remember that, ma-remember nah nimu ang duha before that. ‘Toa’. First, ‘O’, then ‘A’, then ‘OA’.i dont know if these helps or if this is just making things more complicated. [but it worked for me]

  2. dean, just a tip. [honestly, i dont know if this would help.]remember, SohCahToa (pronounced as soh-kah-toh-wah)Sin=opposite/hypotenuse; Cos=adjacent/hypotenuse; Tangent=opposite/adjacentjust remember the 'Toa' part. if you'd remember that, ma-remember nah nimu ang duha before that. 'Toa'. First, 'O', then 'A', then 'OA'.i dont know if these helps or if this is just making things more complicated. [but it worked for me]

Have a say

