The Dark Knight, Beijing Olympics, and LHC

As of this writing, yesterday was August 8, 2008—a rare date which only comes once every century. (I didn’t feel the “suspense” and “thrill” of it as much as I did on June 6, 2006.) Sure, whatever.

Anyway, yesterday was Friday, but there were no classes for some reason. A few of my friends and I took the opportunity to watch this summer’s most anticipated blockbuster ever, The Dark Knight.

Look, I’m no movie buff, so I don’t think I’m in any position to impartially critique the movie. So I won’t. Here’s the deal, though: all things considered, the ticket for the movie was probably one the best Php50 (~$1.xx) I’ve ever paid. It had an elaborate, if difficult to follow, plot, and its creators put in all the little details that’d make you smirk. The late Heath Ledger who of course starred as the Joker in the movie played an impeccable role. He mastered the American accent so well you would’ve never guessed he was an Aussie, and as always paid meticulous attention to every little detail of the gruesome character he played. It’s the fruit of the marriage of love, politics, power, big guns, and heavily-armored cars that turn into kickass motorcycles. If you haven’t seen it yet, you very well should.

The 2008 Olympics commenced today with astounding opening ceremonies at the Bird’s Nest in Beijing. Two hundred five countries will participate in this year’s 10-day games. All I can say so far is that the folks over there did one hell of a job with the opening ceremonies and I don’t think I’d be surprised to see the Olympics held very smoothly, despite all the buzz about Tibet and stuff.

In other news, the European Organization for Nuclear Research has decided to postpone assploding the world. Their Large Hadron Collider, or LHC, which was supposed to start up today, will now be started up on the 10th of September. I was reading through the CERN website’s press release for the LHC, and amidst all the geeky words I couldn’t find any reason why they postponed it. Anyway, this should give all the paranoid nerdazoids out there enough time to pack their bags and move to Mars before the world is gobbled up by a dark hole.

I first heard—or more specifically, read—about CERN and its LHC when I read Dan Brown’s novel Angels and Demons, which was the prequel to the controversial The Da Vinci Code. Long story short, the machine smashes tiny particles of matter together at crazy speeds to learn more about the universe. (Hey, don’t look at me. Look at the lab-coat geeks over in Geneva.)

In the meantime I’ll try to finish up at least one blog post for your perusal within the next week. However, periodic exams are fast approaching, and while I will try my damnest to conjure something up from within the forgotten corners of my coconut, I cannot make any guarantees.

Let me take this opportunity to invite you to use Skribit, the little widget you’ll find on my sidebar just above my footer. You can use it to suggest blog topics for me to write about, which is great because I’d love to write about what you want me to write. Go on, let ‘er rip!

‘Til next time,

Dean

5 thoughts on “The Dark Knight, Beijing Olympics, and LHC

Have a say

