NaNoWriMo Fail

Well, we’ve got 6 more days to go before November ends, which means that my first attempt at writing a 50,000-word novel during the National Novel Writing Month has been a complete failure. I’m at a paltry 572 words, which means that I’ll have to come up with at least 8,238 words a day from hereon in if I’m going to make it.

November just hasn’t been a particularly writing-conducive month for me. I’ve been pretty busy with stuff—I emceed at a school pageant, went unwired for a whole week in Tandag, and had something quite drastic happen to me in life. My writing mojo’s really ditched me. My winning the RSPC was a Higher Power’s fault, not mine.

The pep talks, albeit well-written and witty, haven’t brought back my mojo.

The historic election of Barack Obama hasn’t massively inspired my novel-writing, either.

Although I’m usually not the type to give up easily (or am I?), I think it’s safe to declare my first attempt at writing a 150-page novel in 30 days a complete failure.

Better luck next year.

(Please don’t follow my example. Go on with your NaNoWriMo article. Just because acheiving the 50,000-word mark by November 30 has become an impossibility in your case doesn’t mean you should stop writing forever. May the Writing Force be with you.)

Have a say

