You Found Me

That’s the title of The Fray’s newest single which will be part of their self-titled second album, slated for release on February 3, 2009.

I was first introduced to The Fray last year. I was on a trip to Baguio and, while in Manila the day before I came back home, grabbed a copy of their album How to Save a Life from Oddysey. The emotion in their music captivated me—from the pain of losing a loved one in How to Save a Life to the unexplainably familiar feelings encapsulated in Over My Head.

You Found Me thrives on tangible emotion. Isaac, the band’s vocalist, puts the story behind the song well:

“You Found Me is a tough song for me. Its about the disappointment, the heart ache, the let down that comes with life. Sometimes you’re let down, sometimes you’re the one who lets someone else down. It gets hard to know who you can trust, who you can count on. This song came out of a tough time, and I’m still right in the thick of it. There’s some difficult circumstances my family and friends have been going through over the past year or so and can be overwhelming. It wears on me. It demands so much of my faith to keep believing, keep hoping in the unseen. Sometimes the tunnel has a light at the end, but usually they just look black as night. This song is about that feeling, and the hope that I still have, buried deep in my chest.”

My first reaction after obtaining and listening to the song was simply wow. The lyrics are powerful, and the music (which has become characteristic of The Fray) only adds to its appeal. If you haven’t gotten a copy of the song yet, you should check it out.

You Found Me is available now on iTunes. If you’re looking for lyrics, here‘s a nice page. They’ve also put up a viral video on YouTube, but unfortunately they’ve disabled embedding. Here’s the You Found Me Viral Video page for you.

Have a say

