To-Dos This Summer

I’ve begun going to bed during dawn. I’ve stopped going to school. My brother isn’t taking baths anymore.

That can only mean one thing: Summer has finally come! Goodbye, annoying Trigonometry homework! Goodbye, jam-packed, restless weekdays! Hello, sleepless nights! Hello, fun fun fun! For this summer, I’ve decided not to waste my time lazing around all day. Instead, I’m going to make the most out of my two worry-free months by doing all the things I haven’t been able to do thanks to the hectic school year.

Launch DeanTastic.com

Deantastic.com will be my second attempt at entering the crowded technology blogging niche. I’m working on DeanTastic.com as we speak-tweaking the layout here and there but mainly stuffing it with content. My goal is to get ten posts up on the blog before I launch it. DeanTastic.com aims to simplify technology, the Web, and blogging, dishing tips, tricks and news about those three topics from a layman’s point of view as opposed to the old-media-esque manner used by Engadget, Gizmodo, TechCrunch, ReadWriteWeb, and Valleywag.

I’m looking at the last half of April or the first half of May as my target launch date. Hopefully I’ll hit that target bullseye.

Deantastic Tech is now live! Please do drop by or subscribe to its RSS feed. (Heck, do both!) There’s also a weekly podcast to go with the site. Check it out as well. I can check off one item from my to-do list now!

Continue tweaking Plush

I’ve been working on the theme used in this blog for quite a while now. Although I think it’s progressed dramatically since its early V0.9 days, there’s admittedly still a lot of space for improvement. Plush version 1.5 and beyond will hopefully be more dynamic, standards-compliant and unbrokinated on smaller screen resolutions.

Begin Reading Again

I can’t remember the last novel I finished, but I do know it’s been a long time since. The hectic school year (and the Internet) offered me no opportunity to flip open another novel and read it from cover to cover and as a result, my to-read list has swelled up. Over the next two months, I plan to begin and finish reading:

  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho
  • The Audacity of Hope by Barack Obama. I know it’s not a novel and I haven’t gotten myself a copy yet but I’ve been for so long now itching to read this work by arguably the greatest statesman of our time.

Review for Entrance Exams

Shortly after school opens in June, I’m going to have to start looking for a college to go to, and that means taking the daunting entrance exams every high school student dreads. I’m aiming for the University of the Philippines – Diliman Campus (probably a course related to writing, although I’m still slightly inclined to do corporate law), but the plan is to take as many college entrance exams as I can. I have my MSA reviewer booklets here (epistaxis-inducing questions, btw) and I’m planning to enroll in a summer review center, too.

Make some moolah

Hey, it’s a bearish market, and contrary to what the Jatot in the Palace says, the Philippines doesn’t look like it’s going to be immune to the global credit crunch for much longer. A man’s got to make some money. I plan to take freelancing more seriously over the summer and beyond. I’ve already an account at oDesk and take a peek at Craigslist every once in a while. Perhaps I’ll be able to earn the dough I need to purchase all those gadgets I’ve been craving for. Apple’s also poised to release its next iteration of the popular iPhone smartphone come June, so I’d better have some money on hand in case Globe has a discounted upgrade scheme for existing iPhone users.

Fill Up my Moleskine

I am the proud owner of a Moleskine notebook—the legendary notebook used by Chatwin, Hemingway, Van Gogh and Picasso. It’s supposed to be the personal repository of the thoughts I’d rather not have lying around on the Interwho. I find it ridiculously difficult to spill my inner thoughts onto paper. Hopefully, that will change over the summer.

Conclusion

So there you have it—the list of things I plan to accomplish during my two months off. Wish me luck, and hello Summer!

4 thoughts on “To-Dos This Summer

  1. Good luck! Gah, you already know which field of law you want to get into? Bata ka ba talaga? hihihi
    Go for maritime law or international law (trade policy and foreign relations). those are where the big bucks are and there is a shortage of lawyers in those fields 🙂
    In the meantime, enjoy being a teen. Enjoy writing. You write pretty well. May analysis pa! Are you sure you're only 14? hehehe. Or gifted ka lang talaga? 😀

    1. Trade policy and foreign relashens? Sounds exciting! LOL

      Yeah, I should *really* be enjoying what little youth I have left. LOL. I should prolly be running outside instead of Interwebbing, no? hehe. Naman itong si inay oh.. like mother, like son, so kung gifted ako, yun ay dahil gifted ka! 😉

Have a say

