Falling in love with the fountain pen [Excerpts from my diary]

Excerpts from pp. 57-58, dated 02-01-2010.

Today I fell in love.

I first met my new muse indirectly, on the Internet. Jessica Zafra copied JD Salinger’s “Before the War with the Eskimos” [by hand] as a way of remembering him (he died on Jan. 27, Wednesday, at the age of 91). Ms Zafra’s penmanship is remarkably elegant and I couldn’t help but notice how nicely the ink looked on the paper. This led to a bit of exploration which led me to the Montblanc website. (Montblanc is a renowned writing instruments manufacturer.)

And then I saw her.

The Meisterstück 149 fountain pen. Gorgeous. Elegant. Seductive.

Yes. I just called a fountain pen seductive.

Unfortunately the Meisterstück costs upwards of $500, way beyond what I can afford. However, the offerings of Parker, another popular premium writing instruments maker, are quite beautiful, too, and much more affordable. Some of their fountain pens can be had for below $30.

This afternoon I floated the idea of buying a fountain pen to my dad. I did so quite sneakily, too—I simply asked him if he had an unused fountain pen lying around. He told me there wasn’t much of a point in purchasing a fountain pen towards the end of the school year (he’s right), but that he wasn’t closed to the idea of buying me one for college.

I’m not going to hope for a Meisterstück 149, but a nice Parker with a refill bottle sounds delicious. Hopefully I will acquire one over the summer.

* * *

Look at this. Just look at it. Now, tell me that isn’t gorgeous. Here’s a beautiful Parker, too.

Do you use fountain pens? Any recommendations?

2 thoughts on “Falling in love with the fountain pen [Excerpts from my diary]

  1. Ang ganda pala ng Montblanc, very ‘cinematic’ with the Greta Garbo, Ingrid Bergman styles, wow! mag-iipon talaga ako for these. $500 is 25000php, yay!

    1. Diba? Isn’t it gorgeous?

      Nako, $500 is a lot of cash, but if you wanna go for it, then I wish you all the best! Hehe.

Have a say

