Meet Jamby

Jamby, my new Macbook ProHi, I’m a Mac.

While I and my family were in Manila last week for my registration at UP Diliman, my dad bought me my “Congratulations for passing the UPCAT” gift in the form of the high-end model of the latest-generation 13″ Macbook Pro, which I have named Jamby, after the failed presidential aspirant. You see, Jamby’s real name is Maria Ana Consuelo—MAC. Also, like its namesake, my new computer has some serious balls.

Jamby’s specs are these: a 2.66gHz Intel Core2Duo processor, 4GB of RAM, a 320GB hard drive, and up to ten hours of battery life. The usual suspects, such as Bluetooth 2.1+ and 802.11n WiFi, are there as well.

I’ve always been a staunch exponent of FOSS (before I got Jamby I had been using Ubuntu Linux for two years), but I have to say that the Snow Leopard experience is amazing. My favorite feature so far is Exposé; I literally don’t know how I ever lived without it. Also, I haven’t had the chance to really use iWork, which my parents also bought for me (yay!), but after making a few mock presentations on Keynote just to get a feel for it, I can definitely say it makes PowerPoint look downright pathetic (well, more pathetic than it already is). The OS is pretty sleek and snappy, although I’m still trying to get used to the fact that Maximize on OS X doesn’t mean “maximize to fill entire screen”. One more observation: there are far fewer free programs for the Mac than for Windows or Linux.

Overall, I have to say I’m loving OS X and have no plans on reverting to Windows. I am planning to dual-boot Ubuntu on this thing, though, as soon as I get my hands on a spare CD.

P.S. If you’re planning on getting a Mac and are in Manila, I highly recommend buying from Liteware in Quezon City. They’re an Apple authorized reseller and their prices are relatively cheap.

2 thoughts on “Meet Jamby

Have a say

